XTC – ‘Skylarking’ – 1986

XTC‘s ninth studio album ‘Skylarking’ was released on October the 27, 1986.
– The album was produced by Todd Rundgren
– The album is a loose concept album centered around various cycles in life, such as the seasons, days, and years.
-The singles released from the album include: “Grass”, “The Meeting Place” and “Dear God”.
– In 2010 Andy Partridge’s APE House label released a digitally remastered, expanded and corrected edition of ‘Skylarking’. Some 28 years after its initial recording and release, Skylarking finally appears on CD as it was originally intended to sound. Andy Partridge – never entirely happy with the overall sound of the finished album – took it to award-winning mastering engineer John Dent, who noticed something that had never previously been spotted. Somewhere, possibly in the transfer from the multi-channel tape to the stereo master, a polarity had been reversed. This is not the same thing as a reversed left/right channel which puts a stereo picture out of phase and makes the sound unlistenable, but a much more difficult to pin down event that can be triggered by something as simple as a badly wired plug in the overall system which, nonetheless, removes some of the punch and presence from a finished recording. The album’s cover and tracklisting have reverted to the band’s original vision.

2010 Remaster LP cover

2010 Remaster LP cover

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, XTC and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s