The Smiths ‘The Queen Is Dead’ was released on this day in 1986


‘The Queen Is Dead’ was the third studio album from The Smiths

– The album was released on June the 16th 1986 and was produced by Morrissey and Johnny Marr.

– The majority of the album was recorded in the winter of 1985 at Jacob Studios in Farnham, under the working title “Margaret on the Guillotine”.

– The album cover, which was designed by Morrissey, features Alain Delon from the 1964 film L’Insoumis.

– All songs written and composed by Morrissey and Johnny Marr, except “Take Me Back to Dear Old Blighty” (used as an intro to “The Queen Is Dead”), written by A.J. Mills, Fred Godfrey and Bennett Scott.

– In 2013 The Queen Is Dead was ranked the greatest record of all time on NME Greatest Albums of All Time list.



This entry was posted in Andy Rourke, Johnny Marr, Johnny Marr. The Smiths, Mike Joyce, Morrissey, Music, Rock, The Smiths and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s